15 Albums That Had A Profound Effect On Me

last week, I received an email asking you to list the 15 albums that had a profound effect on you. well, after some deliberation, I came up with the following list. like to hear it, here it goes:

01. Elton John – Goodbye Yellow Brick Road – (1973) – my parents have this on vinyl, and it’s the first album I have fond memories of. it was broken in to 4 sides on two records. side one runs the gamut of emotion from “Funeral For A Friend/Love Lies Bleeding” to the Marilyn Monroe tribute “Candle In The Wind” to the upbeat “Bennie and the Jets”

02. Foreigner – Foreigner – (1977) – how many 5 year-olds do you know that would listen to this album. just me, baby, just me. at one time, I thought “Cold As Ice” was the greatest song ever!

03. Wings – Greatest – (1978) – another vinyl masterpiece! sure, Paul McCartney made some terrible music with Wings. but, if you could condense their entire discography down to one disc, you’d get some decent songs. “Live and Let Die” Band On the Run” and “Uncle Albert” were among my favourites.

04. Duran Duran – Rio – (1982) – my next door neighbor had this on cassette. every day after school, I would go over to his house and listen to that album while we played Mike Tyson’s Punch-Out. “Save A Prayer” “Rio” and “Hungry Like The Wolf” were great songs!

05. Skinny Puppy – Bites – (1985) – a band I didn’t get in to until after they originally broke up (10 years after the release) had the privilege to see them live in 2007, which I consider the best show I’ve ever been to.

06. Metallica – Master Of Puppets – (1986) – I remember my friend let me borrow this album on cassette. it was the loudest thing I had ever heard. this was my introduction in to metal.

07. Cinderella – Night Songs – (1986) – I got this album for Christmas one year. this was also the first album I can remember memorizing all the lyrics for. I listened to “Nobody’s Fool” for weeks on end.

08. Guns N’ Roses – Appetite For Destruction – (1987) – the most instantly recognizable opening riff I’ve ever heard. this album would come close to cracking my top 10 of all time, but my perception of Axl has gone downhill ever since I saw them live in 1992.

09. Faith No More – The Real Thing – (1989) – my introduction to Mike Patton. he wore a Mr. Bungle shirt in the video for “Epic” years later, I would come to like that band as well.

10. Motley Crue – Dr. Feelgood – (1989) – I had no idea what “Dr. Feelgood” meant at the time, but I thought the video was so fuckin’ awesome. I listened to this album throughout much of my 7th grade year.

11. Queensryche – Empire – (1990) – there was a song on this album called “Della Brown” so I thought I’d be cool, and make a copy of it for a girl in my class (who was also named Della) she didn’t seem to care one way or the other. life-life-life

12. Nirvana – Nevermind – (1991) – this album was all the rage when I was in 9th grade. “Smells Like Teen Spirit” is what got it going, but I was always partial to “Come As You Are”

13. Red Hot Chili Peppers – Blood Sugar Sex Magik – (1991) – another album what done consumed my listening habits during my 9th grade year, and the first RHCP album I bought. so many great songs on this album. 17 in all, clocking in at just under 75 minutes, but still one of those albums I could listen to from beginning to end.

14. Type O Negative – Bloody Kisses – (1993) – a friend of mine was listening to this in the college dorm I was living in at the time. the first thing I noticed was Peter Steele’s deep, haunting voice. I don’t think there was a song that was less than 5:00 on that album, but each one had it’s own ebb and flow, and never seemed to drag.

15. Marilyn Manson – Antichrist Superstar – (1996) – I had heard a few Manson songs before this album, but this was the first one I really paid attention to. it also served as my pre-cursor to Skinny Puppy.

Foreigner
Carl would be so proud of me

One Response to “15 Albums That Had A Profound Effect On Me”

  1. Clint Says:

    Wow. An interesting and quite surprising list! My one disagreement: Mother’s Milk is way better than Blood Sex Sugar Magic. You should listen to it more! It’s more metal-y and less pop-y. I think the songs are way better. But that’s why this is your list and not mine. You had me LOL with “life-life-life”, hehehehe.

Leave a Reply

