So Maybe I Have A Memory Problem, I Was Just About To Uhhh…

you take two days off, to work Betty White’s Roast, and everything goes to hell.

where to begin, let’s see:
I spent the first half-hour of my shift online searching for a lens filter for a Nikon S5700

the new Samsung touch screen camera with two LCDs is missing!

the customer who embarassed me about the Canon SD 780 came back in to tell me that he doesn’t have a card slot on his computer that will read his Sony Memory Stick Pro-Duo. he ended up buying a card reader.

I saw Rob Dibble! he used to play for the Cincinnati Reds in the 80s and 90s, and now does color commentary for the suck-ass Nationals. I didn’t get a chance to introduce myself, but I’m pretty sure it was him.

a customer cut his finger on our Sony T-90 display model. there’s a jagged piece on the lens cover, from where someone tried to rip the camera off the mount. for a brief moment, I was afraid he was going to ask to see a manager, and possibly complain about me.

GAWDAMNIT!!! I HATE TOUCHSCREEN CAMERAS, ESPECIALLY ONES WITH LENSES THAT DON’T PHYSICALLY ZOOM!!! BUT ESPECIALLY ONES WITH FLIP-DOWN COVERS THAT SLIDE OVER THE LENSES!!!

and then there was the creme-de-la-face…a meeting so bizarre, it needed to be told on a blog that had absolutely no redeeming values to society, like this one!

there was a woman looking at digital cameras. I approached her with the line “how you doin’?” in my south Jersey accent. from time to time, I like to break this out as an icebreaker with my customers. but, this was no time for small talk.

she asked my opinion on several cameras, including a Nikon S220. I told her that I thought it was a decent camera. she replied “didn’t you tell me this was a terrible camera the last time I was here?”

OOOOH!
this was gonna be a tough sale, but that’s when my mental judo kicked in.

“well, it’s a much better camera than the Kodak. more folks complain about that camera than anything else we sell, I tell you whut!” that’s when she replied with “I own a Kodak, and I’ve never had a problem with it!”

EPIC BURN!
thinking back to my training with Chief Master Guru, I knew what I had to do. “if you don’t mind spending the extra money, I recommend you get the Canon SD 1200”

OH NO HE DIDN’T!!!
to which she bluntly replied “ummm, NOPE!” and then she told me to go eat shit. apparently, she had also remembered my pitch on the Nikon S60 from our previous encounter, which went something like “I wouldn’t wipe my ass with that camera!” truly, this was one of the greatest customer interactions I’ve ever had!

Larry David

One Response to “So Maybe I Have A Memory Problem, I Was Just About To Uhhh…”

  1. Clint Says:

    hahaha….

Leave a Reply

