Now, That’s What I Call The Second Wave Of Norwegian Black Metal!

1349 (aka the band named after the year the black plague invaded Norway) are back! the pride and joy of Oslo are once again touring America in support of their forthcoming album, Demonoir, which is their fifth full-length studio album. as I’ve previously mentioned, I first became aware of these guys back in 2006, when they were touring as openers for Celtic Frost. lead singer Ravn, has professed his affinity for the Frost, listing them as one of his main influences.

they covered CF’s “The Usurper” on their 2000 self-titled EP. they’ve also turned in some pretty impressive covers of Buried By Time And Dust (Mayhem) and Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Sun (Pink Floyd) Frost (who also drums for his own band, Satyricon) is fast as shit on the skins. I believe the term is “blastbeat” for what it’s worth Liberation is their best album, hands down!

this time around they will be opening for Cannibal Corpse. I’m sorry to say I’m not a fan of CC, so this will mark the first show in which I might leave before the headlining act performs. the show also happens to be at Jaxx, so good luck trying to get an approximate time as to when bands will actually go on stage. but hey, at least it’s on a Friday! (April 23) I smell an opportunity to break out the old hellhammer shirt. yes, the same one I bought for $15 at Comic-Con in July. APOCALYPTIC RAIDS!!!

time to assimilate 1349 in to my heavy rotation playlist…

1349

One Response to “Now, That’s What I Call The Second Wave Of Norwegian Black Metal!”

  1. Clint Says:

    I know it’s technically black metal, but what I heard of 1349 sounded too deathmetally for my taste.. but i didn’t really give it a fair chance

Leave a Reply

