Peter Steele: R.I.P.

I awoke this morning to find a text msg from my friend, saying that Peter Steele had passed away due to heart failure. he was 48.

I have always admired him as a singer and musician. I feel like he had plenty of great music left to give the world. I am deeply saddened by the news of his passing. I am getting a little choked up as I write this, b/c it’s hard to believe he’s gone.

I saw Type O Negative three times, the first being in 1997. Peter had such a commanding stage presence, with his 6’7″ frame, and his deep, baritone vocals. his biting, sarcastic, and sometimes self-deprecating humour, were an added bonus of going to one of their shows. the last time I saw them (in 2007) was probably their best of the three shows. Peter stood with his bass, in front of his mic stand, occasionally swigging from a wine bottle, he had placed on a stool next to him. they sounded so fuckin’ tight, and Pete as usual, kept the crowd loose with his unique sense of humour.

Bloody Kisses is one of my favourite albums of all time… I still remember that time when someone posted Pete’s real name and phone # on the TON forums…

so today, I load up my winamp playlist with nothing but Carnivore (pre-TON) and Type O Negative, to celebrate the life of Peter Steele. music has lost one of it’s true geniuses. he will be missed…

Peter Steele BK
R.I.P. Man of Steele

2 Responses to “Peter Steele: R.I.P.”

  1. Clint Says:

    Agreed wholeheartedly. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

  2. Carolyn Says:

    R.I.P. )~:

Leave a Reply

