Faith No More – 10.04.12 – One Moron’s Review

Faith No More played their first US show in over a decade at The Warfield in San Francisco on April 12, 2010. I’ll start by
saying this was my third visit to San Francisco in the past 9 months. that being said, I’m still not familiar with the area at all. I hit the bar at the hotel I was staying at (St. Regis), made some small talk with a gal seated next to me, bought a round of Grey Goose, and then I was off. it was only a 5-minute cab ride to the venue, so I got there with plenty of time to spare.

I went straight to the merch table to pick up a “Happy Birthday, Fucker!” tour shirt. while I waited in line, I browsed the wall where they had photos of some of the notable acts that have played there (including Mike Patton’s side-project numbero un, Mr. Bungle, who played there in 1992)

comedy’s anti-comedian, Neil Hamburger, was the MC for the evening. in between acts, he would pepper the crowd with insults, and jokes like “what does Tupac Shakur and Ocean’s Thirteen have in common? they were both shot in Vegas” he would take a sip from a glass of water (or maybe it was vodka) and then clear his throat, like he was coughing up phlegm.

The Pop-O-Pies were up first. the lead singer kept mentioning that their regular singer, was stuck in traffic, and would be
there as soon as he could. of course, he was kidding, but I don’t think too many ppl in the audience (including myself) got
the joke. they were alright for an opening act. kinda had that surfer rock vibe going on…

I was chatting it up with the bartender before the show, and he informed me that Trannyshack are legends in the Bay Area. it’s drag queen performance theater set to music. they had a theme for each song:

Ministry “Stigmata” – guy comes out dressed as Jesus carrying a cross. they untie him and that’s when began all the whipping, simulated fellatio, etc. the cross was broken apart,and thrown in to the audience. SACRELICIOUS!!!
Black Sabbath “War Pigs” – guy dressed as Hitler with a combover and clown nose. he was tearing out pages from what I will say was a bible…allegedly. giant guitar brought out, that had American flags attached to it. they stood the guitar up at the end of the song, which could’ve been a reference to the Iwo Jima Memorial…
Tool “Prison Sex” – drag queen domme with a male and female slave. he had them on leashes. lots of spitting, molesting, and whatnot.
they performed to a few more songs, but I didn’t recognize them. they got a pretty good response from the audience.

it was time for the nite’s main attraction, FAITH NO MORE!!! they opened the show with Peaches & Herb’s classic “Reunited” followed by “From Out Of Nowhere” it was around this time, that I felt a huge surge of ppl pushing towards the stage. I ended up over by the amp stack, stage right, closest to guitarist Jon Hudson. here are some random notes I made about the show, while I was sitting on the toilet, in my hotel room, the day after:

Mike Patton asked how many ppl were from out of town…when half the audience raised their hands he replied “we wanted to do a show for our hometown fans, and we’re playing for a bunch of fucking foreigners!”…
Mike Patton dedicated “This Guy’s In Love With You” to some woman he referred to as “Wind Tunnels” and joked “you probably fucked to this song, too!”…
Cuckoo For Caca is one of those songs that sounds even better live, WAAAWAAAWWAAAWAAA!!!…
they covered Lady Gaga’s “Poker Face” which segued seamlessly in to “Chinese Arithmetic”…
Mike Patton doing a stage dive during “Caffeine”
there was some great sing-along with the audience during the chorus for “Midlife Crisis”…
the entire audience waving their hands from side to side during “Just A Man”…
“OLE, OLE, OLE, OLE!” chant prior to the first encore…
they played three encores…

Faith No More – The Warfield – April 12, 2010 setlist:
Reunited (Peaches & Herb) -> From Out Of Nowhere -> Land Of Sunshine -> Caffeine -> Evidence -> The Gentle Art Of Making Enemies -> Poker Face (Lady Gaga)/Chinese Arithmetic -> Last Cup Of Sorrow -> Cuckoo For Caca -> Easy (Commodores) -> Ashes To Ashes -> Midlife Crisis -> Surprise! You’re Dead! -> King For A Day -> Epic -> Just A Man -> 1st encore: Chariots of Fire/Stripsearch -> Digging The Grave -> 2nd encore: This Guy’s In Love With You (Burt Bacharach) -> We Care A Lot -> 3rd encore: Introduce Yourself

Breakdown by album:
Chuck Mosley era: 3
The Real Thing: 3
Angel Dust: 4
Album Of The Year: 3
King For A Day, Fool For A Lifetime: 6
cover tunes: 2

this was one of the best shows I’ve ever been to! yeah, so I had to fly 3000 miles to see it. I was on vacation, I still got paid. I’m totally ghey for Mike Patton, dare I call myself a…FANBOY?!? there’s three more US shows booked in Philly and New York over July 4 weekend, but I doubt we’ll see a full-on tour any time soon.

for a more in-depth review of the show, including some awesome pics, go here

Mike Patton
photo of Mike Patton, taken by Chris at spinningplatters.com

One Response to “Faith No More – 10.04.12 – One Moron’s Review”

  1. Clint Says:

    That pic almost looks like Tim Heidecker

Leave a Reply

