Local Feline Cooks Up Batch Of Homemade Beef Stew For One Lucky Camper

this was my first ever camping trip, and it was hella fun! wish I woulda gone a lot sooner, but laziness combined with crazy work schedules, conspired against me. I happened to luck out and have this past weekend off, so I jumped at the opportunity. no change of clothes, no toiletries, just a sleeping bag, some snacks, and alcohol to get me thru. my friend was kind enough to let me borrow a tent and a drinking chair. next time, I’ll be sure to bring my own. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten so good in my life! sloppy joes, bratwurst, corn on the cob, s’mores. this tude brah of mine sure knows how to cook!

speaking of cooking, I made the mistake of sleeping with a cat in my tent. I was dozing off when I heard this terrible sound emanating from just behind me. I knew it was the cat, but I didn’t know whether he vomited or shit. I laid motionless for a few seconds, as I took in the smell. I cried out for a flashlight, and found that the cat had taken a shit approx. a foot from my head. analysts later confirmed this was the worst cat-related camping incident…EVER!!! but I was just glad he didn’t shit right on me, or my stuff. that was the worst thing that happened to me in the 24+ hours I spent in the woods, so I’m not gonna complain.

it was really nice to be out in nature. some folks backed out due to Xavier’s arch-nemesis…THE WIND!!! but those fears turned out to be unwarranted. it did get windy later in the evening, but even the strongest of wind gusts left me just a little chilly. I had an undershirt, t-shirt, and a sweatshirt on, and felt comfortable. outside of the minor incident involving the cat feces, I had no problem falling asleep in my sleeping bag (altho it was a 50 degrees bag)

with the morning came even more amazing food. sloppy joes with eggs. cheese on buttered hot dog buns. I’d go camping again just to eat! I’m gonna try and do it again at some point this summer…

P.S.- I ain’t mad at ya, Oranjello!

6 Responses to “Local Feline Cooks Up Batch Of Homemade Beef Stew For One Lucky Camper”

  1. Carolyn Says:

    Poor Oranjello! Sorry about the mishap.

    I delegated myself to the stinky tent for the remainder of the evening. Mainly because when we put Oranjello in there alone, he started frantically meowing and scratching at the tent. He was definitely not happy about being alone in the tent. So Lemonjello and I dragged my sleeping bag and mat to the 2-lesbian tent to sleep with sicky Oranjello. A secondary reason was that it would be roomier for you and Clint. I opened the windows and it aired out pretty quickly. Or I got used to the smell. Either way, it wasn’t too terrible. There were no other accidents after that.

  2. Clint Says:

    Buy your own camping chair if you want arms.. but you’re free to use our older ones indefinitely. They just go to waste otherwise!

  3. Carolyn Says:

    I wish I had brought the other extra chair. We were one chair short for Parthena. I had that thing in my hand and decided not to bring it. D’oh! Of course, we had a full car so maybe there wasn’t room for another chair, but I think it could have squeezed in the backseat.

    • Clint Says:

      oh, i never even knew that’s what happened. I just figured Eli had Parthena covered, or she would have asked us for stuff 🙂

  4. links for 2010-05-11 « Clint's blog Says:

    […] JOURNAL: CAMPING: Local Feline Cooks Up Batch Of Homemade Beef Stew For One Lucky Camper « My Stupi… John The Canadien's blogpost about going camping his first time this weekend, wherein our cat Oranjello shat in his tent. (tags: personal journal camping anecdotes JohnTheCanadien blog posts animals Oranjello shit shitting Clint Carolyn) […]

  5. links for 2010-05-11 « Clint’s Test Blog Says:

    […] JOURNAL: CAMPING: Local Feline Cooks Up Batch Of Homemade Beef Stew For One Lucky Camper « My Stupi… John The Canadien's blogpost about going camping his first time this weekend, wherein our cat Oranjello shat in his tent. (tags: personal journal camping anecdotes JohnTheCanadien blog posts animals Oranjello shit shitting Clint Carolyn) […]

Leave a Reply

