Dreams Mirror Nightmare Reality Of Total Shit Day Of Work At Stupid Fucking Shit Job

I had to be at an 8 AM meeting. there was really nothing of particular interest addressed. altho, the topic of recently fired employees came up. I won’t speak too much on that, other than to say the reasons why they were fired indicated to me that they didn’t give a shit about their job, and may have actually been hoping to get fired. if nothing else, to do what they did, took some major fucking balls.

it was a rather uneventful Sunday at work. as is the case when it’s football season, it was pretty slow. I can count on one hand the number of sales I had. but then it happened, an interaction with a customer unlike any I had ever encountered in 4 years of this thankless bullshit.

a fucking half hour before we closed, I contacted this couple that was looking at a Nikon P100. he asked a question about the viewfinder as compared to the thru-the-lens feature found on your SLR cameras. I figured this would be the extent of our interaction, as he and his wife went back to trying out the cameras. a few minutes later he told me “you know what would be a good idea, is if you had cameras that actually had power going to them.” he compared it to test driving a car with no gas. I asked him which camera he was interested in. he responded that they wanted to try them all. I cracked a wry smile, figuring that he might’ve been joking, or that he was having a really shitty day. it turned out to be the latter b/c he asked rhetorically, should we go somewhere else to buy a camera? he took one final parting shot saying the real problem is ppl just don’t care any more. to be honest, there was a shred of truth to this statement. but then again, that’s more or less a symptom of the current shit conditions that are inherent when it comes to working in retail. nonetheless, I was pretty humbled by this, a little embarassed, but also glad that I held my tongue, b/c I momentarily thought about dropping a few choice words.

if only that had been the end of the episode. but no, he decided to lodge a formal complaint at customer service about me. I’m not sure about what all was said, but I heard he told them I didn’t know shit about cameras. so now I am on the sales floor talking with the manager and my supervisor, and that’s when I dropped at least half a dozen expletives. probably more, as by this point I was fucking pissed off about having been at work since 8 AM, and having a customer that would rather complain about me, than actually let me help them. we coulda had a very civil conversation, discussing cameras. there was the Canon SX 20 that needed to have the AA batteries replaced, which I would’ve been more than happy to do, if they asked me.

I like the ppl I work with. 99% of the customers I deal with are pleasant interactions. but this one instance made me realize how much I absolutely fucking hate my job. at the end of the day, it’s nothing more than a paycheck to me. I’m not on commission, so I don’t give a fuck whether I sell one camera or twenty. feel free to take your business elsewhere. you think I give a fuck about price-matching for shit that other places are selling below employee cost. fucking shit economy ain’t getting any better. the student loan debt in this country has exceeded credit card debt. America’s gonna be a fuckin’ third-world country in 5 years. I DON’T NEED YOUR FUCKING ATTITUDE, FUCK ALL!!!

that nite, I had a very bizarre work-related dream. I was arguing with a guest who needed a cable for their camera. I became so engrossed in proving this guest wrong, that I walked him over to the cable section, just to show him that we didn’t have what he was looking for, and that a card reader worked just as well. in my haste, I left a whole bunch of customers back in my department, with doors to the serpentines where we keep the cameras locked up, wide open. when I returned, the customers were gone.

in a totally unrelated dream from last nite, I was watching a commercial for a reality show about a clean cut family man politician type who, with the help of his teenage son, was looking for a mistress. he morphed in to a more haggard appearance, and I distinctly remember telling someone next to me that he looked like a cross between Patrick Swayze (RIP) and Don Imus.

One Response to “Dreams Mirror Nightmare Reality Of Total Shit Day Of Work At Stupid Fucking Shit Job”

  1. Clint Says:

    I mean, either you have power or you don’t. Not sure how a complaint is gonna change that. Guy sounds like a douche…

Leave a Reply

