…With Liberty And Tacos For All

album tacos has done it again! they put tacos on the front cover of Metallica’s fourth-greatest album …And Justice For All the album that was nominated for a Grammy, but lost to Jethro Tull. they were so impressed with Jason Newsted’s bass playing, that at times, it sounds like they left it completely out of the mix. maybe that’s why they went away from Flemming Rasmussen, who also produced Ride The Lightning and Master of Puppets. for what it’s worth, Jason’s a good guy, and his fans can take solace knowing that Lar$ mentioned in a recent interview, that Jason got a bum deal, when he left the band in 2001. here’s my brief synopsis of the album, which I would give a 3.5 out of 5, according to the rateyourmusic scale…

Blackened – best opening track on any Metallica album
…And Justice For All – good song, but I prefer a cover version (see Grope on Metal Militia II)
Eye of the Beholder – perfect buffer between the somewhat long-winded …AJFA and the instant classic, One
One – I remember seeing the video for this when I was 10, and I thought it was the best thing I’d ever seen
The Shortest Straw – some of the best solo work on the album. heavy-hitting lyrics about McCarthyism politics
Harvester of Sorrow – best song on the album
The Frayed Ends of Sanity – my least favourite song on the album. feels longer than …AJFA even tho it’s 2 minutes shorter
To Live Is To Die – the last song written by the legendary Cliff Burton (RIP) hard to believe this is the last instrumental piece Metallica has written
Dyers Eve – next to Damage Inc. this is the best closing number on a Metallica album

the …AJFA album tacos cover is no longer up on the site. but Wrath von MagicMist sent the pic to me, and I put it up on my flickr, along with the lyric sheet photo, where Jason looks like he’s constipated.

somebody put a taco in a Mercyful Fate album cover, so I will probably blog about that in the near future.

Tacos!!!

...AJFA
none of the other band members would share their hot sauce with poor ol’ Jason

One Response to “…With Liberty And Tacos For All”

  1. Clint Says:

    bwahahaha…. Good summaries.

    Glad that I’ve been saving these images; they disappear too fast apparently!

    I never really thought of Harvester Of Sorrow as being particularly special (i.e. “best on the album”), but a recent listening told me that this song has withstood the test of time better than some others.

    Least favorite is hard. You may be on to something with your selection.

    I’d probably give this album a 5/5 stars on the Netflix scale. I’d give the first four Metallica albums 5/5 stars (i.e. “loved it”), with the black album just being 3/5 stars (i.e. “liked it”).
    I still really like Blackened.

Leave a Reply

