I Finally Found Something I Can Agree On With Lars Ulrich

“When you play to 50,000 people in that kind of a setting, you primarily want to play songs that people know. You maybe play more of the anthems. Sometimes the really fast songs can get kind of lost in big settings. We play so many different types of set-ups: festivals, stadiums, arenas, amphitheaters. Over the course of that, we’ve found what works in different situations. When we play arenas, we change the set-list up every day and play lots of obscure songs, album cuts and B-sides, but when you ‘re playing these really big special events like last night, I don’t know if you want to start digging into super-obscure album cuts and play songs people have never heard of. It can bring the vibe down a little bit, especially when people have been standing on the desert floor for six or eight hours in 90 degree heat.”

The Big 4 played their first show in the US, on Saturday. I don’t think there’s any plans to turn this into a full-fledged tour, but I wouldn’t wanna see Metallica as headliners unless they did something cool like play Master of Puppets in it’s entirety. I’ll give them credit, they played “Orion” which is an uber-rarity. all reports I’ve seen indicate that Slayer’s set was the best. from the videos on youtube, I’d agree. it was kinda cool to see Slayer joining the other bands on-stage during “Am I Evil?”

here’s some setlists:
METALLICA
Creeping Death
For Whom the Bell Tolls
Fuel
Ride the Lightning
Fade to Black
Cyanide
All Nightmare Long
Sad But True
Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
Orion
One
Master of Puppets
Blackened
Nothing Else Matters
Enter Sandman
Am I Evil?
Hit the Lights
Seek & Destroy
GRADE: B

SLAYER
World Painted Blood
Hate Worldwide
War Ensemble
Postmortem
Raining Blood
Black Magic
Dead Skin Mask
Americon
Silent Scream
The Antichrist
Seasons in the Abyss
Payback
Snuff
South of Heaven
Angel of Death
GRADE: A

MEGADETH
Trust
In My Darkest Hour
Hangar 18
Wake Up Dead
Poison Was the Cure
She-Wolf
Sweating Bullets
Head Crusher
A Tout Le Monde
Symphony of Destruction
Peace Sells
Holy Wars… The Punishment Due
GRADE C+

ANTHRAX
Caught in a Mosh
Got the Time
Madhouse
Among the Living
Antisocial
Indians
Fight ‘Em Till You Can’t
A.I.R.
Metal Thrashing Mad
I Am The Law
GRADE: C

5 Responses to “I Finally Found Something I Can Agree On With Lars Ulrich”

  1. Grem BHM Says:

    Megadeth = C+ and Anthrax = C

    ???

    Man, I’ve seen Megadeth of tour with Testament and Judas Priest and they performed a very good concert. I can’t believe you rate them with such a low grade … the same for Anthrax.

    You’re just ready for the “madhouse” 🙂 !!

    • celticfrostedflakes Says:

      I’m sure all four bands put on a great show, but I was basing my grades, purely on setlist.
      for instance, Megadeth’s setlist is good, but still pales in comparison to their RIP 20 setlist, from March 2010.
      Anthrax is a good band, but I never really got into them. saw them with Slayer and Megadeth in September 2010.
      I preferred Testament over Anthrax.
      hope this clears things up 🙂

      • Grem BHM Says:

        Hmm,

        I’ve never been a fan of Slayer, sorry. But we both agree Testament is a very good band !

        Keep up the good work with this blog. Nice to see someone both interested by trash metal & US (doesn’t Isamar Gutierrez deserve an article from you ??)

        Cheers

      • celticfrostedflakes Says:

        seeing Testament perform The Legacy album, in it’s entirety, when they were opening for Megadeth, on the RIP 20 tour, ranks as one of the best shows I’ve ever seen! two weeks before that, I had the privilege of seeing Alex Skolnick Trio open for Rodrigo y Gabriela (another great show!)

        I have most definitely been following Isamar at Academy. in due time, I will devote a column, about how awesome she is. she would kick a lot of ass at US.

        thanks for the comments! I hope u enjoy reading my blog, as much as I enjoy writing it.

  2. Clint Says:

    ^ lol!!

Leave a Reply

