I’m Fuckin’ Up Yer Christmas, Part I

into the final week before Christmas, and my tank is officially running on empty. as the world’s greatest salesman, even I am prone to making the occasional mistake. maybe part of it is that I am already looking forward to bigger and better things in 2012, and that I have zero interest in my current job, other than the health care. anyways, I was working with a customer, who wanted to buy a Canon Rebel bundle (which included a spare battery, memory card, uv filter, second lens, case) I had it all rung up at the register when he decided he wanted to do an online order, so that he could get triple points back.

on a side note, I have absolutely no idea how these “reward points” get credited, and neither do a lot of the customers I interact with. typical conversation usually ends with me asking them if they’ve been getting them via email, and their response is almost always NO.

back on point with my story, I pulled up the web site, had the items picked, and stepped away so the customer could fill out his information. he wanted to be able to pick the items up in-store, but it ended up being a dotcom order that was shipped to his house. so the guest is not happy, and I hafta hear about it from my manager. I believe he used the term “gross incompetency” when describing my handling of the situation. that I had ruined the customer’s shopping experience. I didn’t feel like saying anything other than “you’re right” and “I fucked it up”

on a counterpoint, the customer is still gonna receive his items by Christmas, and I’m pretty sure the person he was buying it for, was with him the day I placed the order. it’ll probably be more of a surprise if u have it mailed in a UPS box, instead of walking out of the store with it. I don’t wanna make excuses, I fucked up, but I imagine there’s worse ways u can “ruin” someone’s Christmas. oh yeah, and I should mention that the customer couldn’t get his triple points online either. yeah, it was a real LOSE-LOSE situation.

Carl

Leave a Reply

