Queens Of The Stone Age “…Like Clockwork” Album Review 5/5

Josh Homme is one of the hardest-working men in the music business. after Mike Patton, I can’t think of anyone else who has worked on more projects than Homme. Them Crooked Vultures, Kyuss, and Eagles Of Death Metal (with Claude Coleman on drums) just to name a few. not to mention, he wrote the theme song for Aqua Unit Patrol Squad 01

following a brief hiatus, Queens of the Stone Age returned earlier this month, with their first studio album in six years …Like Clockwork. the album is loaded with guest appearances from the likes of Dave Grohl, Trent Reznor, and Elton John, among others.

so I guess I should say that I’m not familiar with any of QotSA’s previous albums, save for maybe 2002’s, Songs For The Deaf. a friend of mine recommended the new album, and I’m glad he did. I was frothing for another good rock album, after devouring the new Tomahawk album (reviewed 6/23) and this delivered!

the thumping bassline on the opening track “Keep Your Eyes Peeled” is prominently featured on the album’s heaviest, sludgiest tracks, plodding along at just over 5 minutes.

“My God Is The Sun” was the first song to be unveiled off the album, debuting at Brazil Lollapalooza in March. it’s a nice uptempo song, and a perfect way to segue into the rest of the album. other radio-friendly songs include “I Sat By The Ocean” and “Fairweather Friends” featuring Elton John on piano and the trademark whiny manbitch vocals of Trent Reznor. I keed, I keed, I like NIN.

the title track is one of the more mellower songs on the album, and a great way to close out the album. I got goosebumps listening to it.

“I Appear Missing” is the longest song on the album (clocking in at approx. 6 minutes) and GAWDAMN, it’s pretty awesome! doesn’t drag at all, best song on the album.

“Kalopsia” was written by Alex Turner (Arctic Monkeys) and has Reznor on backing vocals. I love  the tempo changes (esp. the slower parts with the piano) reminds me of something from Mr. Bungle’s “California” album

“Smooth Sailing” contains some of the crunchiest riffs on the record. a throwback to funk reminiscent of early Red Hot Chili Peppers.  sorry, I don’t know shit about the funk genre. the song also contains my favourite lyric on the album “I blow my load over the status quo.”

this album is a MUST HAVE for all QotSA/Josh Homme fans, casual (like me) or diehard alike.

01. I Appear Missing 5/5

02. Kalopsia 5/5

03. Smooth Sailing 5/5

04. My God Is The Sun 5/5

05. Keep Your Eyes Peeled 4/5

06. If I Had A Tail 4/5

07. …Like Clockwork 4/5

08. The Vampyre Of Time and Memory 4/5

09. I Sat By The Ocean 3/5

10. Fairweather Friends 3/5

average song rating: 4.2

netflix 5/5

imdb: 9/10

 

Leave a Reply

